Friday, 6 January 2017

Public Image Ltd. - Album: Super DeLuxe Edition (2016)

Public Image Ltd.
Album - Super DeLuxe Edition 4CD box

"Album", Public Image Limited's seminal 5th studio album was rereleased in super-deluxe, 4LP Format in celebration of the 30th anniversary of the record. With its striking minimalist generic style artwork, "Album" arrived in February 1986. Written by John Lydon and produced with Bill Laswell (with music for some tracks co-written with Jebin Bruni and Mark Schulz from the 1984-85 PiL live band) the album was recorded in Autumn 1985 in New York with prolific session players such as Steve Vai, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Tony Williams and the legendary Cream drummer Ginger Baker. The album only took three weeks to record, followed by a week of mixing. John Lydon later remarked that "Album" was, "almost like a solo album" as he was working on his own with several hired musicians. Jazz saxophonist Ornette Coleman came into the studio while the album was being recorded and commented that Lydon sang like he played the saxophone. Lydon said it was, "still the best thing anyone's ever said to me". "Album" peaked at No.14 in the UK charts and features perhaps the most famous PiL track "Rise", which peaked at No.11.
As well as rare and unreleased mixes from the album and single’s the deluxe edition includes the original demos recorded pre-Laswell with the 1984-85 PiL live band all of which are previously unheard. Two 12” mixes of John Lydon’s groundbreaking collaboration with hip hop pioneer Afrika Bambaataa are also included as bonus tracks.

cd1: Album (remastered 2011)
01. FFF
02. Rise
03. Fishing
04. Round
05. Bags
06. Home
07. Ease

cd2: Live at Brixton Academy 27.05.1986. (unreleased)
01. Kashmir
02. FFF
03. Low Life
04. Fishing
05. Poptones
06. Pretty Vacant
07. Banging the Door
08. Flowers of Romance
09. Bags
10. Round
11. Home
12. Public Image
13. Rise
14. Annalisa

cd3: Various, mixes & outtakes etc.
01. Things in E (aka Ease) (alternative Laswell mix) (1986) (unreleased)
02. Rise (7" edit)
03. Rise (instrumental)
04. Home (7" edit)
05. Rise (Bob Clearmountain remix)
06. Home - BBC TV, Old Grey Whistle Test 20/5/86 (audio)
07. Round - BBC TV, Old Grey Whistle Test 20/5/86 (audio)
08.Time Zone - World Destruction (12") John Lydon with Afrika Bambaataa
09.Time Zone - World Destruction (Industrial Remix) John Lydon with Afrika Bambaataa

cd4: Original 1985 Album demos
01. Animal (unreleased)
02. Black Rubber Bags (aka Bags) (unreleased)
03. European Cars (aka Round) (unreleased)
04. Fairwell Fairweather Friend (aka FFF) (unreleased)
05. Pearls Before Swine (aka Fishing) (unreleased)
06. Things in E (aka Ease) (instrumental) (unreleased)
07. Ben Hur (unreleased) (instrumental) (unreleased)
08. Cats (unreleased) (instrumental) (unreleased)
09. Have a Nice Day (unreleased) (instrumental) (unreleased)
10. Untitled 3 (unreleased) (instrumental) (unreleased)
11. Pearls Before Swine (aka Fishing) (alternate mix) (incomplete) (unreleased)

Pledge Music
Google search: page 1 - page 2 - page 3

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...