Sunday, 9 July 2017

Ministry - Live Necronomicon (2017)

Live Necronomicon

Ministry has released a new live album on Bandcamp - with a vinyl edition following in September - that, while not advertised as such, is taken from the same 1990 concert that spawned the six-song "In Case You Didn’t Feel Like Showing Up" live album and home video. The new set is called "Live Necronomicon", and it can be purchased and streamed now via Bandcamp (in fact, you can listen to the whole record below). A double-vinyl pressing, limited to 500 copies, is available for pre-order ahead of its Sept. 1 release date; only 71 copies remained this morning. There is no product information for "Live Necronomicon", but images of the vinyl release include a photo of a master-tape reel dated 2/22/90, the date Ministry played the Star Plaza Theatre in Merrillville, Ind. - the performance captured, in very abbreviated form, on "In Case You Didn’t Feel Like Showing Up". The show was part of the tour for 1989’s "The Mind is a Terrible Thing To Taste", a trek that saw bandleader Al Jourgensen flesh out the touring version of Ministry into a 10-piece industrial supergroup, adding Skinny Puppy’s Nivek Ogre, Revolting Cocks member Chris Connelly, Jello Biafra of Dead Kennedys and Lard, and a second drummer, Martin Atkins, of Public Image Ltd. and many other groups.
The new live release, at 14 songs, omits the performance of Revolting Cocks’ "Stainless Steel Providers", two Jello Biafra spoken-word pieces (“Message From Our Sponsor” and “Pledge of Allegiance”) and something listed on the setlist as "Country Interlude". It does, however, include performances of songs by Pailhead, Lard, Skinny Puppy and PiL, in addition to plenty of MinistryPerhaps most notably, according to fans who've listened to the set, is that the Merillville tracks are now presented without the heavy overdubs featured on "In Case You Didn’t Feel Like Showing Up", with some of Connelly’s and Ogre’s vocals now much more prominent than on the prior release.

01. Breathe (8:37)
02. The Missing (3:38)
03. The Deity (3:30)
04. Man Should Surrender (3:55)
05. No Bunny (6:16)
06. Smothered Hope (5:12)
07. So What (11:20)
08. Burning Inside (6:38)
09. Thieves (5:10)
10. Stigmata (9:52)
11. Public Image (2:48)
12. The Power Of Lard (8:11)
13. Hellfudge (7:03)
14. The Land Of Rape & Honey (5:36)

Google search: page 1 - page 2 - page 3

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...