Friday, 28 July 2017

The Fall - New Facts Emerge (2017)

The Fall
New Facts Emerge

July 2017 sees the new album by the Fall - their first since "Sub Lingual Tablet" in 2015 - containing 11 new tracks recorded at various studios in the UK and produced in conjunction with Mark E Smith. The band, now in their 41st year, have proven a major influence to many a band in both the UK and around the world. "New Facts Emerge" is their third studio album for Cherry Red Records and regardless of who is playing behind him, who is releasing his records and who he’s married to, frontman Mark E. Smith carries that idea forward and concentrates it down. In fact, as he's moved further and further away from the relatively accessible pop he has occasionally threatened since the '80s, the idea of what The Fall are, and what The Fall are for has crystallised. The band no longer exist as the cracked mirror of the '80s and '90s, who warped the sound of the times into strange and unpalatable shapes, from post punk to art pop to baggy. Over the last decade Smith has calcified The Fall. Arguably the 2017 Fall is the purest version of the band there has ever been. This, you imagine, is what the inside of Smiths fogged head sounds like. Which is possibly why "New Facts Emerge" is one of the best things Smith has put his name too in a decade, the most complete and satisfyingly bonkers Fall album since 2008's "Imperial Wax Solvent". Here Smith finally lets go of the idea of singing at all.

01. Segue (0:30)
02. Fol De Rol (6:35)
03. Brillo De Facto (3:49)
04. Victoria Train Station Massacre (1:14)
05. New Facts Emerge (4:02)
06. Couples vs Jobless Mid 30s (8:44)
07. Second House Now (4:28)
08. O! Zztrrk Man (3:50)
09. Gibbus Gibson (2:37)
10. Groundsboy (3:38)
11. Nine out of Ten (8:48)

Google search: page 1 - page 2 - page 3

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...